Skip to main page content.

Kavilo logo. Spencer Totem Pole detail.    
    IN MEMORY      


Join Us On Facebook.

Aang, haws dang hl kingsaang. Yes, I will see you again.
This page is dedicated to the memory of Original Shareholders who have passed on.

Henry L. Abbott Harriet A. McAllister
Florence A. Adams Harry L. McAllister
Vincent W. Baronovich Ivan J. McAllister, Sr.
Helen J. Benge Eliza M. McAlpin
Pauline Blackstad Paul G. McAlpin
Valborg Braz Malcom J. Miller
Roberta M. Campbell Leif B. Olsen
Stanton D. Campbell, Jr. Robert I. Olsen
Christian L. Coburn Annabelle Peele
John J. Cook David S. Peele
M. Helen Dailey Sarah R. Peele
Dorothy Evener Elaine M. Privett
Julia Fawcett David Ramiskey
Margaret Frank Deborah R. Ritchie
Wallace T. Frank Marjorie E. Sinclair
Sarah J. Hanbury Juanita Mae Smith
Thomas S. Hanbury, III Minnie E. Stevens
Wilfred S. Hanbury, Sr. Agnes R. Swanson
Caroline Hendrixson Estelle I. Thompson
William C. Irvine Louis A. Thompson
Ernest T. Jones Rosemarie Trambitas
George A. Jones Dexter Wallace
Henry H. Jones Betty R. Williams
Laura L. Jones Allen Young
Raymond L. Jones Douglas A. Young
Willard L. Jones Edward L. Young, Jr.
Catherine N. Kerstetter Robert Young, Sr.
Erma G. Lawrence Walter B. Young, Jr.
Herbert F. Lawrence, Sr. Walter B. Young, Sr.
Alton McAllister, Jr. Brian A. Coburn

In Memory of Louis A. Thompson – 1936-2014

President/CEO Louis A. Thompson passed away on January 8, 2014. Louis’ name is synonymous with Kavilco and he will be greatly missed.

Louis A. Thompson, President and CEO of Kavilco Incorporated, was born and raised in Kasaan, Alaska. He was given two Haida names: Xie?n Skinai, which comes from Daxién Skinai, “owner of a large bay,” and La?na Kíngel, “the chief that looks at his village.” Louie, as he was known to his family and friends, was born in 1936 to Agnes Rose Young and Louis Thompson.

When Kavilco was established by the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act in 1972, Louie was present as one of Kasaan’s representatives. When Kavilco’s Articles of Incorporation were signed in 1973, Louie signed his name along with Willard L. Jones, Robert I. Olsen, Rosemarie Young Trambitas and Robert R. Young. He served as interim Board President in 1972 and was elected President of Kavilco in 1973. He was hired as Field Operations Manager in 1975. He oversaw ITT Rayonier’s purchase of approximately 100 million board feet of timber in 1980; Kavilco’s commitment to improve conditions in Kasaan in the 1980s; he negotiated a lease with Alaska Power & Telephone to build a tower on top of Kasaan Mountain to bring wireless technology to Kasaan.

Kavilco remained especially concerned with the issues that impacted the protection of its Haida culture and heritage. Louie was present during the extensive survey of the Old Kasaan site in 1981 and its potential for restoration. Through his efforts, the most cherished symbol of Kasaan’s history, Chief Son-I-Hat’s Whale House and Totem Park was designated a National Historic Place in 2002, opening the door to grants and funding. He helped to write the National Park Service grant that Kavilco received towards the Whale House restoration.

Born and raised in Kasaan always brought back a lot of memories for Louie and he loved to share them. Louie consented to recordings in 2007 and recalled names, genealogies, places, and the colorful residents of Kasaan in its heyday. Few people can recall the history of this little town like Louie Thompson. For more on Louie click here.

Louie is survived by his wife Annette.

Louis A. Thompson




Chief Skowl's grave house, circa 1898-1900.
Chief Skáwaal's grave house with carved whale on top, Skowl Arm, Kasaan Bay, circa 1898-1900. Double-tiered wooden structure with carved, painted two-piece whale on top. Photo courtesy of the Ketchikan Museum #91-1-18-157-Skowals-Grave-Ho.